The Journey Continues…

I considered our 2011-12 fraternal year my best year. The bond I created with a few of those young bros was amazing. Because some of these young men had more troubled backgrounds than guys I’ve previously brought into the bond, I opened myself up a lot more.  With these guys, I found that our struggles were similar; not the same, but painfully similar.  I knew that the only way I could connect with them is if I open myself up and reveal some of my own boyish mistakes and even challenges I encounter up until this very day.  Because of this, I believe we bonded on a much deeper level than I had with any other group of young men before.  I kicked it with them like a real big brother should with his little brother(s)–occasional rough-housing, laughing and joking, teaching, leading.  The bond that I created with these guys still lasts until this day.  We call/text each other weekly, still go on trips together (most recently an Atlanta Braves game and a trip to Six Flags).  Never would I again in this life, have another year as I did in this particular year, or so I thought.

The 2012-13 school year has officially come to a close and as I reflect on our journey with a new set of young bros (every bro I had during the 2011-12 school year matriculated on to the high school which means I began this school year with a completely new set of pupils), I feel this is one of my best years I’ve had, if not the best.  With each new group of young men comes a new set of challenges and experiences for them, of course, but it’s always a learning experience for me.  I don’t think I bonded with this group as well as I did with the previous group, though.  I’m not even remotely disappointed about that.  Relationships and bonding take time, a long time. It’s not an overnight process or even a one-year process.  I’ve only spent one year with this group so far, and I’ve been with my 2011-12 group for three years, since they were 6th graders! I love this past fraternal year because I have a new group of kids who were ready and willing to learn everything they czn from me.  For the most part, they are well behaved, respectful and all-around good kids.  This year, I placed a strong emphasis on the ’11 Standards of Manhood’, drilling it in their heads at each and every opportunity. This group learned and we grew together intellectually, I suppose. Last year, there was more emotional bonding; this year, much more intellectual.  So for next year–it’ll be my 2nd year with them–I’m expecting it to definitely be the best year year. They’ll have a good knowledge base of the strands I try to teach, and we’ve established a good foundational relationships with one another to continue to build upon. 

Mistakes and Implications for the future:

  • I did not spend as much time on Standard 3 “Hustle Hard” as much as I should have–financial literacy and tapping into an entrepreneurial spirit.  Our last two meetings were about setting up summer plans to make money. I told them we would revist our goals in June, July and August.
  • I could’ve spent more time on Standard 4, “Sophistication“–effective communication and interpersonal skills. I really would like to spend a good deal of time on social etiquette, public speaking and debating. 
  • As usual, I spent entirely too much of my own money.  I need to be more assertive in asking for snack donations as well as transportation expenses. I have a family of my own to support.
  • I also need to begin collecting data on the number of school discipline referrals from my group and academic progress.
  • We did not do as much community service as we’ve done in years past.

Highlights

  • Successful implementation of the “11 Standards” in all activities and weekend trips.
  • Tour of Clark-Atlanta University and CAU art gallery
  • Tour of Atlanta HIGH Museum completely paid for by sponsors (teachers)
  • Successfully purchased bowties for every young bro and a few were successful at tying them.
  • Atlanta Hawks vs. Oklahomo City Thunder
  • Atlanta Hawks vs. Portland Trailblazers
  • Atlanta Braves vs. LA Dodgers (tickets donated by players themselves)
  • Prepared over 700 nutritious meals to Atlanta’s sick and shut-in at Open Hand-Atlanta
  • Delivered 20+ meals to Atlanta’s sick and shut-in, many of whom lived in dilapidated neighborhoods
  • Helped cook soup for homeless at Holy Trinity Methodist Church soup kitchen
  • General body meetings much more structured and organized. We have a note-taker, minutes and records keeper, and materials distributors
  • Successfully completed year two of literacy initiative. We finished reading and discussing Narratives in the Life of Fredrick Douglass, autobiography of Fredrick Douglass.
  • Received 5 pair of retro Jordan sneakers to be given aways as gifts.
  • Attended Martin Luther King Day Commemoration Service and tour of site.

Fraternal year 2013-14 Goals

  • Purchase more bowties for each member of the bond
  • Purchase uniform neckties for each member (like-colored ties)
  • 5-10 hours a month of community service
  • Visit to Georgia Aquarium and Fernbank Museum of Natual History
  • Visit to Georgia State Capitol (projected to do by summer’s end)
  • Monthly business (carwashing, yard-work) to generate funds for end-of year trip.
  • End-of-year trip to Six Flags completely paid for

We will continue our literacy and Black education program by doing another book study.  I would like to do two next school year, one in the fall semester and another in the spring. I am currently taking suggestions, but I am considering ASSATA by Assata Shakur and Letters to a Young Brother by Hill Harper.

What are your thoughts? Comment with your book study suggestion.

Leave a Reply

News One

Breaking News for Black America

survivingcancersoon

Just another WordPress.com site

Charter Pulse

Selected readings on US charter schools

Tyler Mills

Poet // Essayist // Editor // Educator

Insatiable Booksluts

Voracious readers tell you if that book is going to suck.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Cognoscenti LLC

Helping You Connect the Dots

donnacmena

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

A Long Obedience

Thoughts on faithful discipleship, Christian living, and life in community

Praise Houston

Inspiration, Gospel, Texas, Radio

CBS Atlanta

News, Sports, Weather, Traffic and the Best of Atlanta

Hip Hop Flu

The SICKEST Entertainment Source in the Game

